Trademark Categories

Search millions of filed trademarks for free.

List of Trademark Categories

FAQs for Trademark Categories

What is a trademark category?

A trademark category refers to the specific classification of goods and services that a trademark applies to. These categories are recognized internationally and are used to clearly define the area in which a trademark grants its owner exclusive rights.

How many trademark categories are there?

There are 45 categories (or 'classes') of trademarks in total. These are divided into 34 categories for goods and 11 categories for services, according to the Nice Classification, an international classification system for trademarks.

How do I determine the appropriate trademark category for my product or service?

The appropriate category is determined based on the nature of your goods or services. For example, if your business deals in clothing, you would typically register under Class 25, which pertains to clothing. Detailed descriptions of all classes are available in the International (Nice) Classification of Goods and Services.

Can a trademark be registered in more than one category?

Yes, a single trademark can be registered in more than one category if it is being used or proposed to be used on goods or services that fall under multiple categories. This is common for diverse businesses that offer a wide range of products or services.

What happens if I register my trademark in the wrong category?

If you register your trademark in the wrong category, it may not provide the protection you need for your goods or services. For example, if you register a trademark for clothing (Class 25) but you actually sell cosmetics (Class 3), your trademark will not protect you from others selling cosmetics under the same or similar brand.

Do I have to pay additional fees for multiple trademark categories?

Yes, generally each class requires its own filing fee. If you are registering your trademark in multiple classes, you will typically need to pay a separate fee for each class.

How often should I renew my trademark registration?

Typically, a trademark registration can be renewed every 10 years. However, the specific regulations may vary depending on the country's trademark laws.

Does the same trademark category apply worldwide?

Yes, the Nice Classification of goods and services applies worldwide. However, how each individual country interprets these categories can vary, and not all goods or services may be recognized in the same way in all jurisdictions.

Is it necessary to hire a trademark attorney to determine my trademark category?

While it's not necessary, it can be beneficial. The process of determining the right category and successfully registering a trademark can be complex. An experienced trademark attorney can provide guidance, help avoid potential conflicts, and manage the registration process.